Because I Am

I am

“Because I Am”

Because I am I do not doubt;
I’ve asked the Muses too much,
I find questions only come when answers touch
The one who’s truly asked, a sudden thrall, another bout
Of wonderful from inside out,
More than likely from a shirt I’ve borrowed, shoes and such
Accoutrements as please my ëgo’s crutch,
Evasion and a sense of power dark and sinister with clout
Enough to raise the latter summer’s gnats as armies in profusion
Reigning at meadow’s edge no longer than lightning lasts but flashes.
Yes, I always ran but found my way back home again for more.
In time, of course I’ve found no one knocking at my door or keeping score.
Within such knots I’ve found the food of courage, yes; fusion
When it came left nothing but the need for rain to cool the coals and ashes.

Leave a Reply

