“I’ve Found No Time”

open gate

“I’ve Found No Time”

I’ve found no time to drink to you these days;
My skies are not so fullsome gray and nothing presses.
Gates are open, roads are cleared, the milk of guesses
Churned to butters; no delays,
No distractions, no rain checks, and all is well.
And while some sooner sunrise I’ll miss the summer breeze,
The longer play of light from dawn to dusk, the ease
Of minor clothing, still, the autumn spell
Of falling leaves, and promises of best
And better reasons through the seasons yet
To come are smiles. While the fall forgets,
Stiller riots and fomentation, revolutions in the colours
come as no surprise to solar guests:
The greens and yellows, pinks and fuchsias, indigos
And mauves will flee, as blackest soils one day taste my toes.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

photograph above by Todd Small…

4 responses to ““I’ve Found No Time”

  1. sitting here, using my time well,.. thinking on valuable time passing, we don’t/cannot hoard, we savour and let it go.. and it returns of it’s own free will, touching us vaguely in memories, … rather absentmindedly patting us on the head.. there, there, and off it goes again!! … (methinks the cough medicine is far too strong 😉 ) xx

  2. lovely. I enjoy and admire your writing

    • From my heart to yours, I thank you for your kind comment; such remembrances only increase the joy of writing. Again, it was kind of you to comment.

  3. Yes, this is a lovely poem. You are very talented. Richard Vallance, Lnear B, Knossos & Mycenae (WordPress). Could you kindly rate my latest photos of Knossos I have just uploaded? I am following your blog now.
    Thanks again! Richard, Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

Leave a Reply

