“I Shall Surely Walk”

BluffingBullAfricanElephant

“I Shall Surely Walk”

I shall surely walk along these paths long after you are gone;
And in my obscure passing you will see my face
And hesitate as does a wisdom before a monument; grace
You’ll find in pausing but no call to right the wrong
To minions and dominions of worth that walk
In humility with me through the earth. The greatest beast
Is not welcomed at the honoured feast
Of any kind among you; I am stalked
In safety, but what I am equals all you gain  by your guns,
Your greed, your everlasting arrogance that stuns
Justice and holds aloft as with a beacon what you did to Abel.
Where I am, thunder runs.
Within my dusts you’ll find that what it is you are, I am not. All history shuns
What you’re about and by default, so do I, and so the asp,
and so the holiness within the rusts of precious metals and the stones
Beneath your feet whose humble cries are one in glory with the sun
And all that is beyond your feeble senses, a perpetuity roused
to laud the numberless; a single Manifestation you can neither hide nor fathom.

6 responses to ““I Shall Surely Walk”

  1. I would love to have the ability to make guns disappear at my will, or change the poachers rifles into balloons on sticks and see how they feel, instead of facing a magnificent creature by looking down the sights of a bloodthirsty killing weapon of death and destruction. Bloody greed, bloody hands and may the blood always show and cling to their souls.
    Marvellous imagery born by your words… xPenx

  2. Love the opening lines—the way they conjure souls…

    Also love this: “…the holiness within the rusts of precious metals and the stones
    Beneath your feet whose humble cries are one in glory with the sun…”

Leave a Reply

