“Disconcerting”

“Disconcerting”

Disconcerting; expressionless about the face,
The eyes, the gestures, my smile in any minor step
You take; sudden entrances, exists, all essentials swept
In torrents across this mobile stage, the supple need for guidance as I pace
The floor to find my shoes. The simplest gesture burns; the sparks, elite,
So subtle brilliance in the softest action while you, the witness to it all abhor
The fact that what I am is what you are. Denial rages through a score
Of fears exhaled in sweat and tears that flood whenever I begin to seat
Your soul where it belongs, this sacred trust
held deep within me. Rest easy, friend.
I will be true to you. In later moments when I’m gone you’ll think
On it and know we are nothing if not sums of spirits
in the grip of centrifuge. We drink
From common ladles. Mortgaged mornings’ lights’ assay and bend
The prism’s light to bleed tomorrow’s rainbow’s form from drops.
We form an ocean, mariners of error and mistake;
We bear a circumstantial curse that leads
to universal light in every breath we take.

 

2 responses to ““Disconcerting”

  1. I love the words ‘Mortgaged mornings, ‘lights’ assay and bend’ John, your mind is so …. oh for goodness sake, this morning I can’t string a few words together and other days I seem to be unable to damn the flow… anywho, cursed we are I think… and separated by our sameness rather than our differences… for that which we abhor in others we won’t/can’t/don’t recognise in ourselves. (or is that just me?) xPenx

    • “…. oh for goodness sake, this morning I can’t string a few words together and other days I seem to be unable to damn the flow… anywho, cursed we are I think… and separated by our sameness rather than our differences…” What a beautiful thing you expressed here. Of course, what you couldn’t know was what was on this side of the Atlantic, the which, when joined with your words made perfect sense to me. Yes, I do believe we are “cursed” as is the case with just about any aspect of life that anyone leads, and it is precisely in our “sameness” that this mutual curse inevitably becomes a mutual blessing just as surely as every darkest midnight is followed by a sun at high noon. After all, the sun does not cease shining simply because the earth has revolved, and the greatest solace of the night is that the sun is still there shining whether or not we happen to be facing in the right direction. It’s the same with the temporary inconvenience of clouds; we need the rain,…but of course…not during a picnic. Since none of us stays here forever, all of us are in fact cursed with the bizarre but very real fact that we are, at least while we are here, spirits confined to material bodies, so bring on the curses. But, of course, there are also the blessings…, not the least of which is that sooner or later we blow this hotdog joint and, from what I’ve heard, it’s a lot easier in the Next World without these bodies….At any rate, as the Big Bopper from Stratford once wrote, “The blessings of heaven fall thickly,” on you and yours. “Let all the number of the stars light thy fair way.”

Leave a Reply

