“Legs”

“Legs”

Legs scream from disuse; interests
Never wane nor is there lack
Of resource to occupy the early morning hours; tact
Required is not so much in natural proclivities but tests
Produce no lasting gain, neither does it rest
With me to exercise the tongue nor double back
To quarterlies or turn the nightly critics’ wrack
Of sacrificial lambs upon the spits of bourgeois poets at best.
What’s needed here is something never hitherto dreamed
In me, a note within the notes to cauterise the day’s addenda:
A slight nod, a subtle indication from the heart
That what’s required here’s no literary arrow, no gift of art
To clear the plumbing, irrigate the tired eyes, pump iron into the stream
But the simple act of walking: yes, it’s time to stretch the legs,
place circulation above all mental circumlocution on the agenda.
…but of course, today it’s raining…

6 responses to ““Legs”

  1. “…turn the nightly critics’ wrack
    Of sacrificial lambs upon the spits of bourgeois poets…”

    Whoo-Hoo !!

    I, too, need to exercise more…

    Why do writerly types so often forget that mind works best when in a supple body??

    • …I suspect if “all things made equal” applied to the present period, it might be possible; frankly, the devil’s in the detail when it comes to dependence on technology and the lure of a screen over what one’s own eyes can perceive. I see the many every day walking, perhaps, but with cell phones talking, viewing messages, and hardly ever looking at whatever the scenery. If I had no laptop, I somehow doubt I would have written as much as I do. On the other hand, if the truth be known, I know I am as addicted to vicarious experience as anyone else and I have no one to blame but myself. Moderation has never been a strong virtue in me; I always taught as if there were no tomorrow and now I write with somewhat the same sentiments and what is happening to these legs is the direct result. I might have walked today, but it’s raining…again…

  2. I wonder what Baha’u’llah feels about our physical conditions…..?

  3. It’s an interesting question,…right up there with another dozen or so that seem always to present themselves with or without answers but that appear to fly right out the window when it comes to whatever it takes to teach and howsoever long it takes to do so. Every time I come to the conclusion that my body is entirely expendable, something like money in the bank, I seem destined to run into Writings that express the need to show enormous, elephantine respect for the physical body, even to the point of burying one properly in the sense of a funeral. Every time I take my person seriously, I find that I seem destined to run into Writings that express the need to throw caution to the winds and do whatever needs to be done to ensure success in teaching.

    Since the negligence of almost the whole of mankind has so unbalanced almost the whole of his planet, I doubt seriously if any considerations or generalisations concerning health can effect any but superficial beneficence in the face of so afflicted a world as the one we inhabit. The question, in short, is probably moot for the nonce. In the meantime, I try to eat my veggies even though they are at times quite tasteless and I now definitely wear mittens and a hat in winter, something I never did in my life before this last winter and even with the gloves and hat, I found warming up impossible outside my house or anywhere but under my wonderful electric blanket, the one that saw me safely to sleep every night.

  4. Your following quote, which clearly expresses one of my favorite ponderings, might be resolved by attempting what the House recommends–removing false dichotomies…:
    “Every time I come to the conclusion that my body is entirely expendable, something like money in the bank, I seem destined to run into Writings that express the need to show enormous, elephantine respect for the physical body, even to the point of burying one properly in the sense of a funeral. Every time I take my person seriously, I find that I seem destined to run into Writings that express the need to throw caution to the winds and do whatever needs to be done to ensure success in teaching. ”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    I’ve also pondered along the lines of the next quote, though often wonder is spiritual resilience in the face of planetary toxicity is part of the new race of men…:
    “Since the negligence of almost the whole of mankind has so unbalanced almost the whole of his planet, I doubt seriously if any considerations or generalisations concerning health can effect any but superficial beneficence in the face of so afflicted a world as the one we inhabit. “

  5. I wonder when we humans will lose the ability to walk? When will natural selection ‘select’ and change the structure of man limbs, mayhap give him four arms instead? xx

Leave a Reply

