“They Scrutinise”

“They Scrutinise”

They scrutinise the inner circle, seconds closer to the sun;
They tether vague fancies in what they see.
The goal, the Holy Mountain; the seed of moonbeams,
Sentimental grace notes in devotions on the run,
And as so much depends upon the multitudes, the hours in the flight,
The centre stage, the spotlight, so little alters the day’s applause,
The algorithms generously applied to the phrase or clause
Voiced without a thought to virtue, voids, or to the rites
Of solipsism in the critical mass, the accidental moment
Seen as just another occasional comma with little heed to order in a full stop.
I see them, I speak with them; I hear their thoughts,
Their questions earmarked from time to time–no need for comment
How much less provide a flint for yet another conflagration, yet another guess
Demanding fuel for candidates greater than the sun, never more, never less.


7 responses to ““They Scrutinise”

  1. Aha…

    Another one where I “sense” the meaning but it won’t rise to consciousness…

  2. Yes, well, the gist of it is that we are living in a world of brilliant sunlight that has escaped the attention of the “many” and the “few” among the “chosen” who still insist on the use of candles…including yours truly!…

  3. I often ponder parts of the Writings that I can only be “understood” by my thinking that they refer to what we can’t “see” because of our veils, like:

    “…the Word of God hath infused such awesome power into the inmost essence of humankind that He hath stripped men’s human qualities of all effect, and hath, with His all-conquering might, unified the peoples in a vast sea of oneness.”

    (Abdu’l-Baha, Selections from the Writings of Abdu’l-Baha, p. 20)

  4. I don’t think a day goes by when I have not tasted of my own hubris in imagining that I understand anything of this world and my place in it, and, conversely, that throughout my entire life I have the distinct impression that my soul is being “humoured” by the majesty of the Manifestation. There seems to be no way to avoid these extremes, at least for me. In a sense, then, like you, I can only accept what ‘Abdu’l-Baha has said, and with it the certitude that whatever is will by God is and what is not, isn’t, and, as The Bab stated, “Nay, too exalted is the station of God and of His loved ones for any person’s good or evil deed to reach their holy threshold. Whatever reacheth Me is ordained to reach Me; and that which hath come unto Me, to him who giveth will it revert. By the One in Whose hand is My soul, he hath cast no one but himself into prison. For assuredly whatsoever God hath decreed for Me shall come to pass and naught else save that which God hath ordained for us shall ever touch us. Woe betide him from whose hands floweth evil, and blessed the man from whose hands floweth good. Unto no one do I take My plaint save to God; for He is the best of judges. Every state of adversity or bliss is from Him alone, and He is the All-Powerful, the Almighty. —Selections from the Writings of the Bab, p. 15 What demands can a grain of sand make of Mount Everest? Privately, at least, I do not believe there is a man, woman, or child living who has anything near a clear conception of the Cause of God as it was, as it is, and as it will most certainly be. We have to live with this; there really is no choice since, after all, none of us can sit on our hands and wait for Godot to arrive knowning damn well that He’s already arrived and not one of us gets the point.

  5. Have you read the book, Revelation & Reality ~ Learning to Translate What Is Written into Reality, by Paul Lample?

  6. No, I have not read that book; as a matter of fact, I had no idea who Mr. Lample was until you mentioned him. What attracted you to this book? What inspired you to read it?

  7. Well, the first read was inspired by the Secretary of our Assembly saying it was by a member of the House and talked about the culture of Learning.

    The second read was inspired by the density of the first read and a desire to chew more slowly and enjoy the flavor.

    The third read was to digest it… 🙂

Leave a Reply

