“It’s As He Told Her”

“It’s As He Told Her”

It’s as he told her, he always hurts the ones he loves.
Believe him when he tells you what he’ll do.
He’ll signal truth in words, explicit clues
To what his will intends no matter the subtleties above,
Below, or the quality of the clay. Fine attentions to the salty lioness
Are not always at the kill, yet in the afternoons,
The evenings or lights of several suns and moons
Appearances there are before the moment the scion
Lifts his head, a certain sign, a succinct rhythm
In his blood’s begun, and someone here must die.
In that split second, confirmations reign; he did not lie,
And as in the beginning when he sat with her before the schism,
Miles and distances between the warning and the fact;
Hours and days pass but memory deceives and hides the lethal act.

3 responses to ““It’s As He Told Her”

  1. The lover and the Beloved, eh?

    All love songs are about God…

    Am I missing the point?

  2. I learned some time ago, several years back, that when someone says something like, “I always hurt the ones I love,” they are not speaking off hand or of the top of their heads; they mean it, and it has been my experience that since learning of this, I have avoided many truly potentially dangerous situations because I took such statements as warnings and not mere phatic small talk. The inspiration for this poem has come from what I learned then and what has been confirmed in all these years since.

    Your mention of love songs being in fact a thing directly related to God is a point that I have known to be true for decades and to which no one that I have ever known until now has ever referred, no one, that is, except the Manifestations. It seems to me that when this divine reality or virtue fades in favour of mere emotion and reaction or simple interaction between attracting elements, or, in short, the material ramifications of what it means to be attracted to or to attract―in both directions―it becomes a matter of time before the virtue vouchsafed by God―attraction or love—does indeed decay to something purely material, such as infatuation, or worse, simple lust and/or other hurtful injustices. It does not happen instantly, but the potentials for spiritual growth, if ignored, become the prescription for the lower motives, or vices, and the results are both perspicuous and infamous so that I know you know exactly what I mean here. The throes of thralldom are always tricky, subtle, and at times, downright dangerous; this is even true in consideration of what considers his or her attraction to God, Himself. Lust, on the one hand, and, on the other, fanaticism are the inevitable result of human interpretation of whatever emanates from the Divine.

    To return to your statement, I was intrigued by the fact that what you mentioned I had quite forgotten as my thoughts were centered on the person who originally inspired the poem and those since then who have one and all confirmed the truth behind the seemingly innocent or innocuous conversational cautions and warnings that I have heard from time to time over the years. As a matter of fact, I have come to see that in the same way, fanaticism, especially religious fanaticism results from something similar in scope, no matter what religion, ideology, sincerity of purpose, or even how initially pure the relationship between any two souls. Lust is, after all, only attraction that may be natural, but crosses the line into perversity if in fact it is not sanctioned by the Creator. Envy, jealousy, and all the vices follow the same pattern: a thing divine employed in an unlawful application. I meet few souls these days who see it this way and, as a result, feel increasingly isolated in general from conversations and, save in my own sonnets, I rarely ever mention what I have learned or seen in this regard. Spiritual and mental arrogance I am most familiar with in myself, of course, but having said this, it seems to me that it has markedly risen in general everyday conversation, and certainly in the media, to the point that meaningful consultation is rendered close to moot with most. I tend to listen, to read, and, until recently, with the exception of my own sonnets and a few messages to you, I have left writing and speaking to others.

    Frankly, nothing short of King Kong can humble most souls I know and there are many at present who apparently have a thing or two to say even to King Kong when he shows up from time to time; they seem to think he requires bananas when in fact, the long and the short of it is that he’s only asking for respect. Events in Tunisia, Egypt, Libya, Bahrain, Jordan, Qatar, in fact the whole of North Africa into the Middle East and as far as Pakistan or India have had leaders who presently insist that bananas are the answer every time King Kong shows his ugly face. Yes, well, you and I know that there are forces in this world that make King Kong, himself, look like a gibbon with an attitude problem.

    All of which is to say, when someone warns you that they intend to harm or inflict harm on you, it seemeth to me that he or she probably means it. Beyond that, of course, the same thing applies to hints and warnings from God, Himself, who is certainly above the need of token bananas.

  3. “throes of thralldom”

    Whew!!

    “…there are forces in this world that make King Kong, himself, look like a gibbon with an attitude problem.”

    Amen 🙂

Leave a Reply

