“No Hurry Here”

“No Hurry Here”

No hurry here, my friend. We’re good.
Suns rise, planets phase, the stars occluded
In eternal night for us, denuded
For the spectacle of the age as well they should,
Arranging, rearranging, fires aging, and would
It not be so, we stand here drowned in light, deluded
In the glories of the senses; the curtain down, the play concluded,
No more weighty moment waits than any stage could
Bear before the audience and the players notice
Satyrs in between the acts, their gains and winnings never noted
In the dusts of righteous critics in the press save to meet their deadlines
Like haughty dandelions and crabgrass choking fallow fields consigned
To be the wonder of some future generation’s panoply in the cosmic lists
No more nor less erased in time, no more nor less devoted.

3 responses to ““No Hurry Here”

  1. Was this written specifically about the picture?

  2. No. Actually, I wrote the poem with the general idea of the remains of past civilizations, even the bones and mummies now being unearthed and displayed [without the slightest regard for the fact that even if for the sake of fascination or morbid curiosity concerning the past, still such remains as are found in graves are, in fact, the “remains” of human beings who certainly did not have it in mind that their bodies or the remains of their bodies would become objects of display due to mere curiosity] seemingly whenever and if ever found. This particular photograph I noticed on Yahoo, a photograph of the remains of what apparently were a couple who died together in close embrace. Usually, I write whatever it is that occurs to me on this day or that one and then find a photograph or painting that in some way captures something of what it was I included within a given poem. I wrote this poem some time ago and now that I think on it, I am not altogether sure that the photograph didn’t inspire the original writing of the poem. Perhaps I contradict myself here, but the general rule is that I write a sonnet and then find a visual confirmation in photography or painting or sculpture. There are the odd occasions when something that I have seen on the Internet inspires a reaction; these, however, are rare. Again, in this instance, I knew the subject divorced from the actual photograph but having come across the photograph, I could not resist using it. Whichever came first this time remains a kind of vague memory now. Whether in the writing or the finding of photographs and/or paintings, there are times when I spend just as much time in finding a visual confirmation of a poem as I did writing the thing in the first place.

  3. Completely *fascinating* 🙂

Leave a Reply

